Home | Version française
You are here : Homepage » Informations search » Territories and infrastructures » Region » Lower Normandy » Maillage et urbanisation à taille humaine

EVE direct

If you can't find the information
you are looking for ?
Contact us

Networking and urbanisation on a human scale

  Ajouter au panier

A region comprising
- 13 "pays" (districts): leading tomorrow's
development projects
- 14 employment market areas: to define the sphere of influence of a particular economic area
- 10 employment areas: to delimit a geographical area comprising local employment markets

In its publications, the INSEE (National Institute for Statistics and Economic Studies) in Normandy uses the term "bassins d'emploi" (literally employment basins) which, in fact corresponds to a more detailed breakdown of employment areas. The notion of employment basins, or rather employment market areas, is often used as a general term to define the sphere of influence of a particular economic hub. The region's 14 employment market areas: Caen, Bayeux, Lisieux, Vire, Cherbourg, Saint-Lô, Avranches, Granville, Coutances, Flers, Alençon, Argentan, L'Aigle and Mortagne-au-Perche.

An employment area is a geographical space within which the majority of the population lives and works. It delimits the sphere of influence of major employment hubs. In the early 1980s, the French authorities were looking to develop a tool to study how local employment markets work and to help in the decision-making process for employment-related proposals. Hence the emergence of the notion of employment areas, defined as "geographical areas within which inhabitants generally find work and within which businesses generally find the required manpower, both in terms of quantity and quality, to occupy the jobs they generate." Employment areas therefore geographically delimit local employment markets.
The region's 10 employment areas: Caen-Bayeux, Avranches-Granville, Alençon-Argentan, Mortagne-au-Perche – L'Aigle, Lisieux, Vire, Flers, Saint-Lô, Coutances and Cherbourg.

The Pasqua Law or LOADT (Law Orienting Territorial Planning and Development) dated 4th February 1995, complemented by the Voynet Law or LOADDT (Law Orienting Sustainable Territorial Planning and Development) dated 25th June 1999, have transformed territories into genuine project zones, based on local initiative. These laws also aim at encouraging solidarity between rural and urban zones.

The region's 13 "pays".
In Manche:
- Pays du Cotentin (Cotentin peninsula)
- Pays de la Baie du Mont-Saint-Michel (Mont-Saint-Michel bay)
- Pays de Coutances
- Pays Saint-Lois (Saint-Lô)

In Orne:
- Pays du Bocage
- Pays d'Argentan - du Pays d'Auge Ornais (PAPAO) (Argentan and Orne portion of the Pays d'Auge)
- Pays d'Ouche
- Pays du Perche Ornais
- Pays d'Alençon

In Calvados:
- Pays de Caen
- Pays du Sud Calvados (South Calvados)
- Pays du Bessin au Virois
- Pays d'Auge

  • Machiniste
  • Stock de barres métalliques
  • Tracteur en labour